top of page

Martin Fascione (PI)

Martin leads an interdisciplinary glycoscience research group within the Department of Chemistry at the University of York, UK.

Martin received his Ph.D. from the University of Leeds in 2009 under the supervision of  Prof. W. Bruce Turnbull on the stereoselective synthesis of 1,2-cis-glycosides. Following a postdoctoral period in Leeds, he was then awarded a Marie Curie International Outgoing Fellowship to study the mechanisms of carbohydrate processing enzymes with Prof. Steve Withers, FRS, at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada (2012-2013) and Prof. Gideon Davies, FRS, FMedSci, at the University of York, UK (2013-2014). In August 2014 he took up a lectureship in the York Structural Biology Laboratory, within the Department of Chemistry in York. His research interests include the chemical glycobiology of nonulosonic/sialic acids, synthetic and enzymatic carbohydrate chemistry, and the bioconjugation of proteins.

In 2022 he was awarded a five-year ERC Consolidator Grant (selected by the ERC, funded by UKRI).

Martin Fascione

The Group

Josh Fair.jpg

Josh Fair


Simeon Hubbard

Abby Walklett.jpg

Abby Walklett

Alice hewson_edited_edited.jpg

Alice Hewson

Tessa Keenan.jpg

Tessa Keenan

girl lego.jpg

Natasha Hatton

Mandy Noble.jpg

Mandy Noble


Joe Nabarro

Afzaal Tufail.jpg

Afzaal Tufail

Yumiko uno_edited.jpg

Yumiko Uno

James Jeffries_edited.jpg

James Jeffries

Owen Hughes_edited.png

Owen Hughes

Esme Hutton_edited.jpg

Esme Hutton

Millie Curran_edited.jpg

Millie Curran


Bartosz Kowalski

Ben Schwabe photo.jpeg

Ben Schwabe

Matt Warnes_edited.jpg

Matthew Warnes

Ethan Snape_edited.jpg

Ethan Snape

Former Members


Dr Goutam Gucchait (PDRA, 2015-17)

Dr Darshita Budhadev (PDRA, 2016-18)

Dr Richard Spears (PhD, 2014-18)

Dr Harriet Chidwick (PhD, PDRA, 2014-20)

Dr Emily Flack (PhD, 2015-19)

Dr Robin Brabham (PhD, 2015-19)

Dr Jenny Hayes (PhD, 2016-20)

Dr Lewis Gooch (PhD, 2016-20)

Dr Nick Yates (PhD, PDRA, 2016-22)

bottom of page